Monday, August 18, 2014


Nora Aunor keeps having the last laugh.

As expected, the nation’s most celebrated actress tucked another accolade under her belt when she was named Best Actress in the Directors Showcase category at the awarding ceremonies for Cinemalaya X Sunday night at the Cultural Center of the Philippines Main Theater.

The honor, for her role as a human trafficker  in the film “Hustisya”, follows the recent presidential snub of her nomination for the National Artist award.

When Nora, who is also known to fans as Ate Guy, was announced as the Cinemalaya 2014 Best Actress for Hustisya, presenter Mimi Juareza described her as “our National Artist.”

In response, the crowd inside the Main Theater gave Ate Guy a standing ovation as she went up the stage to receive the Balanghai trophy.

In her speech, Ate Guy thanked the Noranians who comprised a huge portion of the crowd.

“Sa wakas po, nagkaroon ako ng pelikula sa Cinemalaya,” exclaimed Nora in her acceptance speech.

Robert Arevalo won Best Actor, also for Directors Showcase, for his performance in “Hari ng Tondo”. In the New Breed category, Eula Valdez (“Dagitab”) and Dante Rivero (1st Ko si 3rd”) were named Best Actress and Actor, respectively.

Hailed as Best Film were “Kasal” (Directors Showcase) and “Bwaya” (New Breed).

Following is the complete list of winners:

Best Film (Directors Showcase): “Kasal”
Best Film (New Breed): “Bwaya”
Best Film (Shorts): “Asan si Lolo Me?”
Special Jury Prize (Directors Showcase): “Hari ng Tondo”
Special Jury Prize (New Breed): “K’Na The Dreamweaver”
Special Jury Prize (Shorts): “The Ordinary Things We Do”
Best Director (Directors Showcase): Michael Tuviera, “The Janitor”
Best Director (New Breed): Giancarlo Abrahan, “Dagitab”
Best Director (Shorts): Kevin Ang Tan, “Lola”

Best Actor (Directors Showcase): Robert Arevalo, “Hari ng Tondo”
Best Actor (New Breed), Dante Rivero, “1st Ko si 3rd”
Best Actress (Directors Showcase): Nora Aunor, “Hustisya”
Best Actress (New Breed): Eula Valdez, “Dagitab”
Best Supporting Actress (Directors Showcase): Cris Villonco, “Hari ng Tondo”
Best Supporting Actress (New Breed): Barbie Forteza, “Mariquina”
Best Supporting Actor (Directors Showcase): Nicco Manalo, “The Janitor”
Best Supporting Actor (New Breed): Miggs Cuaderno, “Children’s Show”
Special Citation Ensemble Acting: Elmo Magalona, Coleen Garcia, Sophie Albert, Kit Thompson, Slater Young, Chynna Ortaleza, “#Y”

NETPAC Award (Directors Showcase): “Hustisya”
NETPAC Award (New Breed): “Bwaya”
Best Editing (Directors Showcase): Tara Illenberger, “The Janitor”
Best Editing (New Breed): Gerone Centeno, “Children’s Show”
Best Sound (Directors Showcase): Michael Idioma, “The Janitor”
Best Sound (New Breed): Bryan Dumaguina, Jedd Dumaguina and Yves Patron, “Children’s Show”
Best Musical Score (Directors Showcase): Richard Gonzales, “Kasal”
Best Musical Score (New Breed): Erwin Fajardo, “Bwaya”

Best Production Design (Directors Showcase): Harley Alcasid, “Kasal”
Best Production Design (New Breed): Toym Imao, “K’na The Dreamweaver”
Best Cinematography (Directors Showcase): Mycko David, “Kasal”
Best Cinematography (New Breed): Neil Daza, “Bwaya”
Best Screenplay (Short Film): Kevin Ang Tan, “Lola”
Best Screenplay (Directors Showcase): Aloy Adlawan and Michael Tuviera, “The Janitor”
Best Screenplay (New Breed): Giancarlo Abrahan, “Dagitab”

Audience Choice (Shorts): “Lola”
Audience Choice (Directors Showcase): “Hustisya”
Audience Choice (New Breed): “Sundalong Kanin”
Best Poster Design: Justin Besana, “Asintado”
Canon Award for Best Cinematography: Mycko David, “Children’s Show”

Erickson Dela Cruz
Teddy Pelaez

No comments:

Post a Comment