Saturday, December 12, 2015


by Nestor Cuartero
Manila Bulletin
November 26, 2015




ONE AND ONLY FILIPINO AWARDEE: Even with her less than 5-foot bearing, Nora Aunor stood tall as the lone Filipino honoree at the 2015 Gusi Peace Prize awards alongside 18 other international dignitaries, scientists, medical doctors, academicians, including former president of Portugal Antonio Eanes. The veteran actress, who has won a harvest of international awards for her acting, is just one of four women receiving the exclusive honors this year.

The Gusi Peace Prize 2015 Laureates
The prestigious Gusi Peace Prize 2015 was handed out in a formal ceremony at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) on Nov. 25. The night before, a welcome dinner was hosted by the Gusi family at the Fiesta Pavilion of The Manila Hotel where the Philippine superstar was hailed as a world-class international artist.

Nora said she felt inadequate in the company of her fellow awardees, all of them trailblazers and trained experts in their respective fields of endeavor. The winner from Austria, for example, Prof. Hans Lehroch, was being honored for his work in scientific research on human genome and medical systems biology.

Miss Nora Aunor of Philippines
Dr. Mary Pinder (Australia) was receiving the same honor for her work in medicine (intensive care). Nineteen internationally renowned individuals who have distinguished themselves in fields ranging from academe to research, engineering to poverty alleviation and cinema, are being feted this year by the Gusi, now on its 14th edition.

Chairman Barry Gusi hands Philippine Laureate, Nora Aunor the Gusi Peace Prize Award.
Other countries represented in this year’s roster of awardees include Russia, Ukraine, United States, The Netherlands, Bangladesh, Cambodia, among others.

Ali Mohammed Said Efaifa of Qatar
Dr. Rob Vanderpoorte of Netherlands
Dr. Susan Briggs of USA 
Hon. Hun Mann of Cambodia
Former President Askar Akayev of Kyrgyzstan
Dr. Zuran Vadachkoria of Georgia
Hon. Shykh Seraj of Bangladesh
Dr. Jeffrey Huang of China
Dr. Hans Lehrach of Austria
Dr. Alexander Chumakov of Russia
Prof. Petr Biizkovsky of Czech Republic
Dr. Zuriyadda Sakipova of Kazakhstan
Dr. Syunji Sano of Japan
Dr. Mary Pinder of Australia
Former President Antonio Eanes of Portugal
According to Amb. Barry S. Gusi, president of the award-giving body, Nora is being recognized for her significant and internationally acclaimed contributions to the performing arts. The Gusi award is aimed at inspiring societies to work closer in the attainment of peace and respect for human life and dignity.

Amb. Barry S. Gusi, Chairman of Gusi Peace Prize Foundation (Left) and Art Barbadillo, Noranian
Previous winners of the Gusi Peace Prize from the Philippines include former Presidents Fidel V. Ramos and Gloria M. Arroyo. Every fourth Wednesday of November has been declared by Pres. Arroyo as the Gusi Peace Prize International Friendship Day under Presidential Decree 1476.


The Main Event, Gusi Peace Prize 2015 Awards Night in the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC), Manila, Philippines.

First Lady of Gusi Peace Prize Dr. Col. Evelyn T. Gusi
Gusi Peace Prize President Senator Emmanuel Jones of Georgia, Atlanta
Gusi Peace Prize Awards Ceremonies
The Gusi Laureates with the Gusi Family

The Welcome Dinner, the evening before the Award Night was when the Gusi Peace Prize 2015 Laureates were officially introduced to the public at Manila Hotel. 


Wreathlaying Ceremonies with the Gusi Peace Prize 2015 Laureates at the Rizal Park Monument.


Photos by: Boying Capistrano


Art Barbadillo

No comments:

Post a Comment