Thursday, July 30, 2015

Nora Aunor leads Gawad CCP honorees



The Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) will recognize 11 individuals and two groups for their outstanding achievements and contributions to Philippine arts and culture.

They will receive the Gawad CCP Para sa Sining, the highest award given by the cultural center.

The awardees are as follows:

Denisa Reyes (Dance) - Ballet Philippines' artistic director for two terms (1991-1994 and 2000-2004), Reyes boasts an impressive list of choreographic works that have won critical recognition on the international dance scene. Her works focus on Asian Contemporary dance and the possibilities of presenting current local issues through dance expressions.

Fides Cuyugan Asensio (Music) -  An icon in the development of opera and musical theater in the Philippines, soprano Asensio starred in various Filipino operas including the world premieres of Rosendo Santos' "Mapulang Bituin" and Lucrecia Kasilag's "Dularawan." She continues to promote young classical singers through the Music Theater Foundation of the Philippines, the non-profit organization she has established.

Antonio "Tony" Mabesa (Theater) - The founding director of university-based theater company Dulaang UP (University of the Philippines) is also known as one of the country’s premier directors, having directed over 130 stage productions.  He is also an actor and a designer who has worked with the top theater companies.

Roberto Chabet (Visual Arts) - CCP's first art curator was also known as the father of Philippine conceptual art. His works include installations, drawings, collages, sculpture, and paintings. He passed away on April 30, 2013 at the age of 76.

Ricardo "Ricky" Lee (Literature) - Lee has championed the use of Filipino in fiction since the 1960s and screenplay writing since the 1980s. His works include the screenplays for "Himala", "Salome", "Ang Totoong Buhay Ni Pacita M.", Muro Ami" and "Gumapang Ka Sa Lusak." He launched his first novel, "Para kay B (O Kung Paano Dinevastate ng Pag-Ibig ang 4 Out of 5 Sa Atin)," in 2008.

Nora Aunor (Film and Broadcast Arts) - The "Superstar" of Philippine movies is a multi-awarded actress, singer, and producer, with a list of iconic film roles throughout her nearly 50-year career. Aunor has also topbilled several award-winning stage plays, television shows, and concerts.

Paulo Alcazaren (Architecture) - The UP-educated Alcazaren is an expert in urban design and landscape architecture and an advocate of environmental and heritage conservation. He has also published several books on design and architecture.

Ben Farrales (Design) - The Dean of Philippine fashion has over six decades' experience in the industry, and has dressed actresses, socialites and other famous beauties. He is most famous for his Muslim-inspired looks, taking the malong fashion to other parts of the world including Los Angeles, and New York through his exhibit, "Maranaw."

Leoncio Deriada (Literature) - Deriada has won prestigious literary awards including the Palanca Hall of Fame for his works in English, Filipino, and Hiligaynon. Born in Iloilo, he has encouraged and trained young writers in West Visayas writing in Hiligaynon, Kinaray-a, and Aklanon as well as English and Filipino.

Armida Siguion-Reyna (Musical Theater and Film) - Reyna's contributions to the arts span the fields of music, theater, television and film. She has performed the lead in operas including "Lucia di Lammermoor" and "Rigoletto." She has worked both in front of and behind the camera, but is perhaps best known for her television work as the host of the award-winning program "Aawitan Kita."

Basilio Esteban Villaruz (Dance) - Villaruz is the man behind the the 34-year-old dance program at the University of the Philippines College of Music. He currently serves as a professor emeritus in the university's voice and music threater/dance department. He is also the artistic director emeritus of the UP Dance Company.

Talaandig School of Living Tradition - this Bukidnon-based school teaches traditional Talaandig values and mythologies, dance techniques, and music for pre-school children on top of their basic education.

The Missionary Society of St. Columban - The recipient of the Tanging Parangal—given to individuals or organizations for outstanding contributions to the development of the arts—has catered to the Malate area's ecclesiastical and artistic needs since 1929.

Given every three years, Gawad CCP Para sa Sining is awarded to artists or groups of artists who have consistently produced outstanding works and enriched the development of their art form.

The awarding will be on September 17 at 7 p.m. at the Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (Main Theater) in CCP. — Trisha Macas/BM, GMA News 

No comments:

Post a Comment